The Veterans Squash Rackets Club of Great Britain

home > tournaments > 2015 tournament report
2015 Club Tournament
(photos and results )

This year’s Club Championship Finals took place at Broxbourne last weekend, the 18th and 19th April. There were many fine matches played, some results going with form and some not, which is always a good thing.

Highlight matches of the weekend were; the 65 semi-final where Aubrey Waddy overcame Barry Featherstone, in the 50 age category Marvin Rust beat Mark Hildred and Malcolm Gilham with a master class of age squash, won the Over 80 singles, from holder Wilf Mann.

Mandy Akin proved too strong for all the opposition winning the Ladies O’40 and O’50 titles, then the Ladies doubles with her partner Karen Hume.

Brian Phillips was probably the tiredest player there, with a total of 7 matches over the weekend in the O’70 and O’75 age group singles and doubles, winning 3 titles and runner up in the 75 singles. Quote “ I won’t enter so many next year”. Watch this space!

After the squash had finished we held the AGM. Tony McStravick said a few words on the passing of Brig. Michael Perkins and then the agenda was raced through in a matter of minutes.

The prize table bulged under the weight of crystal, the trophies were duly presented and the winners applauded.

The last 2 awards were then presented. Firstly, The Norman Hunt Trophy, which was given to George Aplin for his support of the Tournament over many years while travelling from the West Country. Finally, The Burrell Trophy was given to the most surprised person present, Jane Belle. She’s even considering joining the club now.

Both awards rightly deserved.

Then close of events was marked as usual by the buffet, thanks go to Darren and his team for a fantastic spread of food.

The last mention should go to Karen Lane and the staff and members of Broxbourne.

Karen stepped in and sorted the whole weekend when we had to relocate from Colets, the bars staff supplied refreshment and the members didn’t complain about us taking over their club for the weekend. Many thanks go to all of you.

Geoff Howes
Tournament Director
21st April 2015