The Veterans Squash Rackets Club of Great Britain

home > tournaments > 2021 tournament report
2021 Club Tournament
(photos and results )

Tournament Directors Report 2021

After a wait of nearly 20 months we were able to complete the Covid curtailed 2020 Club Championships over the weekend of 27/28th November. Although all entrants from the 2020 event were entitled to a free entry into the now named 2020/21 Championships, numbers were down on the previous year’s total and in some age groups there were no entries at all. Something we hope will be corrected next year.

With Covid still very active all ES Covid protocols were enforced and there were no reported cases during the Tournament. Thanks to the participants, spectators and all involved in helping run the event for this.

The Doubles event was played over two venues. Saturday matches being played on the doubles courts at The RAC Epsom, with the finals moving to Colets on the Sunday. Some of the early rounds of the singles matches were played before the weekend, but to restrict unnecessary travel, all matches in some events took place at Colets. This meant busy a weekend for some players who were involved in doubles and singles categories.

Unfortunately there were a number of player s who sustained injuries on Saturday and were unable to compete further. I hope they all recover quickly.

A busy Sunday program saw the finals take place at Colets. Winners were Keeley Johnson and Dawn Robinson in the two Ladies age groups, Marvin Rust, Laurence Molke, Stuart Hardy, Ian Graham, Leighton Jenkins and Lance Kinder in the various men’s singles.

Always popular were the Non-County singles, contested by players who have not played at county or International level. For the first time we had a lady enter one of these which was encouraging. The winners being David Parker and Keith Ragg.

The Doubles finals are often the highlight of the weekend and again this proved the case. Hurford and Stiles winning the Over 50 title, Barwise and Edmondson the O’60, Graham and Waddy the O’70 and Belle and Dobson the O’75.
The AGM was held after the finals, followed by the presentation of prizes. As well as prizes for the players the Norman Hunt Trophy was awarded jointly to Karen Hume and Mandy Akin and the Burrell Trophy to Nick Sheppard. The afternoon was completed by everyone enjoying a hot meal and glass of wine curtsey of the club.

My thanks must go The RAC and Colets for allowing us to hold the finals at their clubs and to the main markers Paul and Dean for the effort they put in over the weekend. Finally, massive thanks to Jane Belle for her administrative duties that kept the whole weekend running smoothly.

At the AGM it was decided that the timing for the 2022 Championships should be at the beginning of the 2022 season and a date and venue will be confirmed early next year. I look forward to seeing many of you then, with hopefully a bigger entry than this year.

Geoff Howes
Tournament Director