The Veterans Squash Rackets Club of Great Britain

home > tournaments > 2012 tournament report
2011/12 Club Tournament Finals Broxbourne 21st/22nd April 2012
(photos and results )

This year’s Tournament finals returned again to Broxbourne and were held over the weekend of 21st/22nd April.

60 matches were played with the semi-finals on the Saturday producing some exciting battles, the closest being in the O’60s with Ian Graham v Aubrey Waddy and Barry Featherstone v Chris Goodbourn. Aubrey and Barry emerging the winners.

The O’65’s had Chris Ansell back on court after his illness, not fully fit, but trying hard against Mike Clemson. Chris Goodbourn had his second match of the afternoon and overcame Martin Pearse 3-1. The O’45’s was reduced to 3 players through injury and was played as a round robin. Darren Withey coming out on top.

It was good to see more ladies playing but once again a couple of injuries reduced the fields. Again these were played as round robins with Sam Mueller winning the O’40 with Lynne Davies the O’50.

The Ladies Doubles final was played late on the Saturday. The pairings had changed over the day with the 4 most able players mixing in. Claire Baker and Karen Hume triumphing.

Sunday produced the usual mix of matches. The plate singles played first then the main tournament finals. As with age group squash, injuries played their part and Dermot Hurford was forced to retire in the O’50 final leaving Chris Harland the winner.

There were wins for Mark Cowley, Barry Featherstone, Chris Goodbourn, Adrian Wright and John Woodliffe in the 55-60-65-70-75 age groups.

This year we had our first O’80’s event. The original 5 players were reduced by injury to 3. Alex Hamilton having travelled 900 miles over the weekend had two close 5 setters, beating James Switzer in the final. Well done to these players, showing us that you can still play into later years.

Keenly contested doubles finals produced wins for Chris Harland and Darren Withey O’45’s, Chris Ansell and Keith Jones O’55’s, Nigel Belle and Robert Smith O’65’s. The O’70’s was won by George Aplin and his replacement partner Brian Phillips (Len Froggitt being injured), and the first winners of the O’75 doubles that well known pair of Woodliffe and Kinder. John and Lance managed to play a total of 10 matches over the two days.

A mention must be made of Vinnie Taylor, a Canadian with a passion for squash. He travels to the UK for the Jesters, enters the occasional regional masters and our own tournament. Well done Vinnie!

Thanks as always to our hosts, Broxbourne Squash club, for letting us disrupt their member’s weekend and especially to Karen Lane for helping organise the weekend. Also thanks to Jane Belle and Terry Woodliffe for assisting with registration, recording results and sorting the trophies.

The AGM produced some lively debate on the PARS v HiHo topic with the majority of members in favour of keeping Traditional scoring. Martin Pearse proposed that the Tournament be played over a single weekend with the doubles and singles being separate weekends and venues. This also was met with approval from the floor and will be trailed next year.

Geoff Howes
Tournament Director
May 2012