The Veterans Squash Rackets Club of Great Britain

home > tournaments > 2018 tournament report
2018 Club Tournament
(photos and results )

Tournament Report 2018 Finals 28th & 29th April

Once again the GB Vets descended en mass to Colets in Thames Ditton for the finals of the Club Championships. As always we received a warm welcome from what many consider to be one of the best venues in the country for squash events.

Although the numbers of entries this year were about normal, there were an unfortunate quantity of injuries that reduced the actual amount of squash that was played.

The squash that was played though was of a very high standard, with victory in the O'45 event for Jeremy Krzystyniak. Nick dart won the O'50 and Laurence Molke again the O'55 event. An all Colets final in the O'60 saw Dillwyn Rosser win for the first time and in the O'65 final the current British Masters Open O'65 Champion Steve Jackson narrowly beat Howard Cherlin, who has turned 70.

Stuart Harland won the O'70 and with last year's winner Brian Rand injured, Brian Phillips returned to the winners platform in the O'75. The long running competition between John Woodliffe and Lance Kinder continued in the O'80 category, with John coming out on top this time. Together they make a formidable doubles team, having won a total of 23 doubles events starting in 1992 and winning again this year in the O'75 event.

Kevin Laughton travelled all the way from Hull on Sunday morning to win the semi-final, then the final in the Non-County 55-64 age group, with Sam Balsdon winning the 65+ Category.

In the doubles events Graham Hooper & Darren Gray won the O'45, Mark Taylor & Chris Harland the O'50, both first time winners, with Alistair McMeckan & Roger Sulley regaining their title in the O'65. Geoff Howes and Aubrey Waddy moving up an age group, won the O'70 beating last year's winners Paul Ventham and James Dubois from The RAC.

The Ladies competitions were played as round robin events. Keeley Johnson winning the lower age group, with Karen Hume winning the older. Karen Hume and Mandy Akin won the Ladies doubles, beating Keeley and Rachel Woolford 3-2.

Di Hendry agreed to act as our temporary treasurer when David Garrett stood down to concentrate on his Padel project. She is still doing the job and for this was awarded the Burrell Trophy.

Without one group the finals weekend would not work and they are the markers. A number of members filled in so that almost all games had a marker. However, one member who travelled all the way from Edinburgh, marked almost continually over the weekend. For this Mike Halpin was awarded the Norman Hunt Trophy.

It was good to see so many old friends get together over the weekend to support the players and equally importantly the club, of which some have been members for over 35 years.

A well attended AGM and prize giving was followed by a traditional buffet and complementary wine. I look forward to seeing many of you during the course of next season and hope that we may encourage even more entrants next year.

Geoff Howes
Tournament Director